Guild Member Profile – Five Minutes with Holly

Have you seen Holly McCaig’s blog, All Things Pink? If not, you should pay her site a little visit. Holly’s a photographing, jewelery-designing, creative force in St. Louis. One of Holly’s great talents is capturing the essence of animals –particularly family pets. Need a smile? Or an amazing picture of your beloved pooch? Check out THIS slide show.

What sparked your interest in photography?

My dad bought a Canon SLR back when I was a kid. I can remember him having an interest in it and always taking our pictures. I of course, always had some sort of camera from the Kodak Disk, a 110, a Polaroid, you name it! It wasn’t until after my dad passed away of Cancer when I was in college that I knew I wanted to use his camera. So, I took my knowledge of darkroom work from classes I had taken in my major and applied for a job as a photographer for the GeorgeAnne – Georgia Southern University’s newspaper. 

How does blogging fit into that?

Oh man, I have a lot of people that enjoy seeing my images and are inspired by them in their own photography. I can spend hours on photographer blogs or on sites like Flickr, so I always hope I can return the favor and show someone something they might not normally see. Like with people, dogs, and even St. Louis. A picture says a lot. I also like to answer questions on cameras, lenses, my post-processing steps and Photoshop tips so I throw those in there too!

Why did you join the St. Louis Blogger’s Guild?

I really wanted to meet more people in the area that “get” blogging! None of my old high school or college friends blog. And, the bloggers I am friends with are spread all across the world. Some I have been lucky enough to meet in person. I have already met another amazing photographer, Raquita, and we’ve worked on a project together. I like to think we’ve both grown in our photography from knowing each other.

Have you gotten any opportunities through your blog you otherwise wouldn’t have gotten?

Oh sure! Because I also do other art, I have found friends that have connected me to my current position of designing scrapbooking products for a major scrapbooking manufacturer, have had others purchase my photography art through my ETSY store, and have made a few new photography clients!

What are your goals for your blog?

To document life. I love to share with others how-tos and what I have learned, but I also like to just share what’s going on in my life. I can look back and re-read things from a few years ago and remember what was going on with me then. And, see how far I’ve come and hope to go further in the future. We have no place to go but up, right?

Why do you blog?

I blog because it’s sorta my escape and lets me just document my life and what’s going on. Good, bad, new, old, whatever.

What are your three favorite links?

THIS was a post imported from my old blog and the picture isn’t there anymore, but the writing is the most important. I think its important that her story is kept alive.

THIS one because I have amazing online friends that just “get it” and are so supportive.

THIS one because I’m always reminded that beauty and nature are always there, even when they just pop up in the most unexpected places just so you’re sure to see it!

Feature by guild member Lisa from Midwestern Mommy.

One Response to “Guild Member Profile – Five Minutes with Holly”

  1. That is such a great picture, too. How do great photographers get great shots of themselves? Find other photographers, or do self-portraits?

Leave a Reply

