To blog or not to blog – Thoughts from a novice

I am very new to the world of blogging.  I started my blog in January as a way to keep long distance family members more informed on the happenings of our daily lives.  I’ll confess, though, that when I started my blog, I didn’t really understand the point.  Was it just supposed to be an online journal?  That seemed a little odd because who would really be interested in the jumbled thoughts that run through my head on a daily basis?  Was it a brag site?  A place to let the world know how awesome my kids are and how I keep it all together?  I’m guessing I disappointed my readers if they were looking for someone who had it together.  So, I started my blog with the idea that I would keep it up for a few weeks, then likely drop it because who really has time to sit at the computer and blog?

 

Turns out I have plenty of time.  Blogging quickly became cathartic for me; a sounding board that gave me a renewed voice. And more than that, blogging awakened a passion for writing within me that had been dormant for some time.  Suddenly, blogging was no longer some bizarre bandwagon that I reluctantly jumped on, but a much needed creative outlet.

 

But there is more to blogging than I first understood.  A lot more.  I am amazed at what a fantastic business tool a successful and well maintained blog can be.  Blogging is more than showing off cute kids!  This was actually quite fascinating to me.  I have, apparently, been living in a plastic bubble for several years.  When I first heard the word blog, I thought of frazzled moms and crazy political nuts.  Now, granted, there are a few of those out there, but there are also so many others who are really positively utilizing this online tool.  They are promoting a new business, giving themselves a voice to be identified with, reaching out to others, breaking news quickly and (many times) accurately, and so much more. 

 

I’ve heard it said more than once by different people that blogging is the new penny press.  This is absolutely proving to be true.  Within just a few years, I think that any company, no matter how big or small, that does not tap into the power of the blog will be at a major disadvantage and will find themselves struggling to compete against those who are getting all the traffic.  It is important for those in the business world to know and understand how a tool as simple as a blog can enormously benefit their companies.

 

So here I am – a blogging newbie.  I still don’t have a grasp on the full impact of blogging as a social media tool.  I am learning a little more every day.  But I do know this, blogging is fun, it’s easy, it’s a great way to communicate, and it has unending potential for those who want to expand professional services.  My encouragement to anyone who is on the fence about the whole blogging industry is to go ahead get started.  Carpe Diem!  And, if you find yourself wanting to get more serious (or if you are already a serious blogger and are looking for some fellowship), please contact us at the St. Louis Blogger’s Guild.  We want to meet you and support you as a fellow blogger.  Plus, it’s always nice to put a face with a blog. 

Leave a Reply

