Blogging On the Go

We’ve all been in the situation where we have a brilliant idea of what our next blog post will be but don’t have access to a computer or even *gasp* paper and pen. Even if you do remember the topic that you were going to blog about, you may suddenly lose interest once you arrive home.  If you’re anything like me, you then spend a significant amount of time kicking yourself for not being more on top of things – not a fun feeling.  But what if you had the ability to blog (or at least write a post) wherever you were?  Sounds great, right?  Well, it is, and I’m here to tell you how to do it!

The easiest way for most people to start composing a blog post on the go is to type it onto a cell phone, or preferably, a smartphone. Depending on what platform your phone is, this is where it can get tricky. For iPhone users, there are two native options for the most popular blogging platforms, WordPress and Movable Type/TypePad. I have used the WordPress application on my iPod touch for my blog and it worked very nicely for strict text. Once you want to add pictures or special HTML tags, however, then it becomes a little more complicated.

If you do not have an iPhone or iPod touch, then can type a regular old text note in your “Notes” program on your phone. Or you can also type an email and either send it to yourself for further writing on your computer or send it directly to an email assigned by your blogging platform of choice. The method of sending your post to your blog is as similar as if you were sending a picture from your phone to TwitPic. Your blog will assign you an address and all mail sent to that address can be put into blog form.

Many people say that a picture is worth a thousand words, and with blogging, that can be very true. Most blogging platforms offer a special way to send emails (or MMS messages) from phone to blog and your picture will automatically be posted. The picture you send can be a tell all of your curent mood, where you are located, or what you are doing at any given moment. Again, sending pictures to your blog depends on your blogging platform of choice.

Finally, you can always voice record your thoughts. Perhaps you’re a bit scatter-brained like myself and speak in short phrases that don’t always make perfect since. If you were to record yourself talking about your blog post (or going out on a full-out rant) you can then take your recording and put it into text form, ready for your blog.

With smartphones becoming more and more prevalent, your life is likely to get more mobile.  Blogging on-the-go can help you get your thoughts out to your readers quickly and easily and can also help you process the stresses of your day as you are living them out.  So don’t get let yourself lose those precious posts that constantly buzz through your head.  Record them, put them out there and and make yourself heard all day long!

Written by: Zach Flauus

6 Responses to “Blogging On the Go”

  1. I always seem to come up with “great” post ideas while in the shower only for them to evaporate with the steam once I get out….sigh.

  2. likewise. I work in 14 hour shifts and usually I’m so tired when I get home that blogging is the last thing on my mind. I can only do so much with the iPhone WordPress app but hopefully they will improve it.

  3. I’ve begun to use the notes app on my iphone to write out ideas on the go quickly. They are just quick thoughts with a few details to use in a future, more extensive blog post.

  4. What kind of technical solution do you have for bloggers who forget what they were going to write about IN THE MIDDLE OF TYPING IT IN? Because, sometimes I…well look at the sale price on that crockpot! Holy Cow!

    Oh, now, what was I saying? Oh yes,… I used to love playing with those lawn darts. I don’t know why they ever took them off the market.

  5. Oh I am totally with you, Gregg! I email myself from work. That seems to help. I just take the minute and press send. When on the go, however, I use the notes tool on my iPhone. As long as I don’t fat-finger the touchy keyboard, it works purty well.

  6. The iPhone / WordPress has a great App. at the App Store. I use it all the time.

Leave a Reply

